Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - New2TheGameNYRef

Pages: [1] 2

Fleeing the mat?

If you keep watching, do you think a second STALL call (in the third period) should have been awarded to force OT.

Wrestlingref - Officiating / Stalling or not?
« on: March 01, 2017, 08:59:31 am »
Even though he is circling, would you consider this stalling??!?!? Ref didn't call it.

See  you all next season!!!! Another great year!

Wrestlingref - Officiating / Preventive Officiating or Coaching?
« on: January 24, 2017, 07:54:44 am »
So, this past weekend...Wrestler A was reporting at the head table. As he was heading over to the table, I noticed he was wearing shorts so I told him to take those off before reporting.

The match went on without a hitch.

The more I thought about this situation, the more I contemplated whether or not it was the right thing to do in my situation. During pre-meet discussion, we tell the coach the make sure they are ready to wrestle when they report, and we even mention this at the captain's meeting during the flip of the disc.

My question is this.....Was that preventive officiating ? or Coaching?


Wrestler weighs into wrestle at 120. Doesn't make weight.

Tournament director places him into computer at 120 and 126.

Kid wrestles 2 matches at 120 and 2 matches at 126 before the error is noticed. Yes, he also wrestles within 45 minutes obviously too.

Wrestling took place in two gyms. Wrestler had two coaches, each happened to be in different gyms and coached him at the same weight. Coach A had his matches for 120 and Coach B had him for 126.

What happens at this point?

Wrestlingref - Officiating / Evaluation of officials
« on: January 07, 2017, 08:54:29 pm »
Dear Refs:

Curious on how your organization evaluates your refs. Where I am from, the coaches gives us ratings 1-5 at the end of the season. I do not think this is the best system, and just wondering what other systems are out there. i want to think there is a better system than our current process.

Wrestlingref - Officiating / Delayed Unsportsmanlike conduct call?!?!
« on: December 30, 2016, 06:01:37 pm »
Dear Experienced refs.....

Luckily, this has not happened to me, but this scenario came to my head and I was wondering what would be the proper procedure on how to signal and call the following...

Wrestler A takes Wrester B to his back.
Wrestler B swears

Obviously (at least I hope...I couldn't find anything in the rule book)..this would be a delayed UCM (Unsportsmanlike Conduct -- Match point), and you would award this at the next stoppage or break in action

My question is....How do you signal this?!?! Normally, on UCM, the action is blown dead and stopped dead.

My guess would be......use arm signal for UC [would this be vocalized as well?], go back to counting backs, and then wait for a stop in action to award the UCM followed by the NF?

If I'm completely wrong, feel free to chime in...I don't think you would stop the action even though, in all other situations that I think of, UCM is an automatic stoppage, but I could be wrong there too.


Wrestlingref - Officiating / Half nelsons
« on: December 10, 2016, 07:53:44 pm »
Dear All:

With kids being so gumby like, I always struggle when to call Potentially Dangerous and when to let it go....anyone have an easy way to know when to call PD and when not to. I always stay close in these situations, but I'm never sure if I should call it or not...I like to err on the cautious side, but I don't want to take a pinning situation away.....any help would be appreciated.

Wrestlingref - Officiating / New season is upon us...
« on: November 13, 2016, 06:28:08 pm »
Good luck to all this season...I hope this board stays relatively active throughout the season! So happy the NFHS exams are now online though. So much nicer and easier.

Wrestlingref - Officiating / Fleeing the mat --- When to make the call.
« on: January 31, 2016, 04:34:50 pm »
Greeting Veteran refs. As a relatively new coach to the scene, this is a call I have a very hard time with. In all honesty, I have NEVER made this call, but I'm pretty sure I must have been able to call it at least once.

My question is...what do you look for? Or what advice would you give on what to look for??!?!?

I watch matches where....bottom man stands up, top man is trying to get a firm hold of him ( hips to hips), and they race out of bounds. Sometimes it is the bottom man that jets out, sometimes, it's the top man that shoves them out of bounds.

I see action by the edge of the mat where the action could continue , but instead, a wrestler maneuvers in a way to cause a "fresh start."

These examples I am giving above...I would have a hard time calling it.

How blatant does it have to be?!/

How often do you make this call?!?!

Any help on the matter would be greatly appreciated.

Wrestlingref - Officiating / Couple other questions:
« on: January 10, 2016, 02:44:14 pm »
1) Wrestler A has no legs.

What are the proper starting positions for

a) Neutral?
b) Top?
c) Bottom?

2) Wrestler B is "visually impaired"

Is there documentation required or do we take the coach/wrestler's word?


Dear Veteran referees....

During a match this weekend, Wrestler A throws a headlock right to Wrestler's B back. I immediately started to count near-fall, but before I got to a 2 count, they are scrambling, and Wrestler B gains control and earns the takedown for 2.

Coach takes me to the table and argues that 1 count warrants an "Automatic Takedown."

I told him , not necessarily. I start counting in the situation that your wrestler maintains control "beyond reaction time", 2 seconds {aka 2 count}, I'd would have awarded 2 and 2 with a reversal. However, your wrestler didn't maintain control beyond reaction time, causing a quick flurry where Wrestler B came on top, 2 points takedown.

If I didn't do this....many wrestlers could possibly lose out on potential near fall points...If I wait two seconds, then start near-fall count, there is TWO FULL SECONDS wasted to ensure the control and takedown.

I've been looking for any rule backing on this, but can't find anything. He was very adamant about this. He later earned an unsportsmanlike conduct for his language towards me later in the match. He perseverated on this call the entire match. His wrestler did lose by a point, but I do think I made the right call. He even got the head official who did agree with me.

Am I correct or Incorrect? I couldn't find any official rule regarding this in the rule book. Please inform me the proper protocol......The only other way I could see doing this is, call Two, count one near-fall, then WAVE IT OFF, but that doesn't seem right either. Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Wrestlingref - Officiating / Stalling on top with a leg in?
« on: December 13, 2015, 01:44:24 pm »
Dear All:

What are you veteran refs looking for when a leg is in and is on top?

I ask because I had a match recently where Wrestler on top (advantage position) puts a leg in and tries to work the spladle and guillotine. How long do you let a kid attempt this before calling stalling. If they cant get the spladle or guillotine they should have to work something out, they can't just go back and forth can they? All they're really doing is covering their opponent's hips and staying parallel in a relatively safe position. Yes, they are working hard, but are they really working on improving their position?

I'd like to hear some people's thoughts on riding on top with a leg in and stall calls.


Wrestlingref - Officiating / What do you do in this situation?!?!?
« on: December 11, 2015, 06:56:13 pm »
Two lower middleweights, highly skilled,  engrossed in a very tight match. We're in the third period, the score is 3-3. We're neutral, Wrestler A is in the process of taking down Wrestler B, and the spaghetti wrestling ensues for a good 30 seconds in which I award what I is a clear 2 point takedown for Wrestler A, but to the opposing coach, it was extremely controversial, and I took an earful when the action went out of bounds. At this point, little over 10 seconds left.

Wrestling continues, a last ditch effort is underway by Wrestler B, and similar spaghetti wrestling ensues, and lo and behold, Wrestler B earns a reversal, and Coach from Team A is livid. In the process, Wrestler B gets a bloody nose, and blood time begins after the buzzer when it is noticed. Wrestler B goes to his coach, trainer comes in and cleans up the blood. After the blood stops, cleaned and dried, the coach sticks a couple COTTON PLUGS into his nose, and says to his wrestler, "Now, GO #$#@#$ take him down!" 

{This is why I give the backstory. It was an extremely intense, heated match in which two excellent wrestlers were pitted against one another).

Here I am, right next to these two wrestlers. We're about to start SUDDEN DEATH OVERTIME....If I bang the coach for a USC (unsportsmanlike conduct), the match would be over. I can't call a coach misconduct (which would only be a warning --- or at least I didn't think so at the time, and after reading the rule book, I don't think I could have either). I can't let his wrestler lose because of this, can I?

In the end, I let them wrestle, and it went to Double Overtime in which Wrestler B came out victorious after escaping in the second 30-second period, and held wrestler A off for the last 10 seconds.

What would have you done? Can you really make that USC call?!?! What made me contemplate this is that we had a big talk pre-match about the use of profanity during the contest (whether it's towards yourself, opponent, coach, or spectators, all language must remain appropriate or you will be called for USC.)

I'm still wondering if I did the right thing, and would like others to chime in, I will discuss this with my peers at our weekly meeting on Monday, but wanted to get it out here and see other people's perspective.

Pages: [1] 2