Author Topic: Score this...  (Read 1450 times)

Offline Intensity guru

  • LXP
  • Get a Job
  • *
  • Posts: 13081
  • MEMENTO MORI
    • View Profile
Score this...
« on: July 24, 2013, 06:57:28 PM »
I always bring my hips to the party.

Offline Ray Brinzer

  • Ipse Dixit
  • Administrator
  • Get a Job
  • *****
  • Posts: 7202
    • View Profile
    • http://ray.brinzer.net/
Re: Score this...
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2013, 10:10:31 PM »
3 Red.

The move went feet-to-back, despite that blue's knee was dropping at the time, so it's 3, not 2.  It's also not 2 for a defensive hold; blue did not initiate in that direction and get caught on his own move; red initiated.  The fact that red attacked from a position of disadvantage does not change things.  Blue, in attempting to recover and score, did not put red on his back, or hold him there; both athletes rolled off their backs, and blue attacked red's leg.  No finish, no score.

In my opinion, the ref made the right call, except that he should have allowed the action to continue longer.  And, in my view, he was too quick to begin the count.  Under the current rules (which may change at any moment) once you get a 1 count, if the other guy winds up on top it's 1 for a reversal, not 2 for a takedown.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2013, 10:12:15 PM by Ray Brinzer »

Offline vaisforlovers

  • World Silver
  • *****
  • Posts: 2169
    • View Profile
Re: Score this...
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2013, 03:27:44 PM »
I see that 3 red as well.  Neat counter.
To avoid criticism say nothing, do nothing, be nothing.