Author Topic: Rules Interpretation  (Read 3970 times)

Offline NDKnowledge

  • OW
  • **
  • Posts: 250
    • View Profile
Rules Interpretation
« on: February 05, 2015, 09:48:21 AM »
What would happen in a match if Wrestler "A" committed a false-start and got a caution, but his actions caused Wrestler "B" to become injured and he couldn't continue the match- even though the cause of the injury was completely legal Such as:

From Neutral- Wrestler "A" tries to time the whistle and takes a quick low-single and hyperextends his opponent's knee
From Bottom- Wrestler "A" tries to time the whistle and does a fast, hard stand up and accidentally headbutts his opponent, breaking his nose
From Top- Wrestler "A" tries to time the whistle and does an arm-chop breakdown hyperextending his opponent's elbow.

In all of these instances, the maneuver that wrestler "A" is doing is a legal move, but it happens before the whistle blows and results in injury.

Does Wrestler "A" become disqualified or does wrestler "B" have to injury default if he cannot continue?

Offline SingletSlinger

  • World Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 1685
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Interpretation
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2015, 04:49:39 PM »
Wrestler A would win by injury default if his opponent cannot continue. It was not an illegal move, nor an unnecessary roughness penalty.
Bunch of snowflakes run this board, sad how the mods cater to people that support one political party.

Offline heelpick

  • DI
  • ***
  • Posts: 633
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Interpretation
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2015, 09:39:23 PM »
Is that definitive? A caution is still indicates an infraction doesn't it

Offline AKIN

  • LXP
  • Get a Job
  • *
  • Posts: 16561
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Interpretation
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2015, 12:19:16 AM »
2014-15 Case Book

Pg. 61
8.2.2 Situation F

With wrestlers in the neutral position, one wrestler false startsand initiates a single leg takedown. The action is such that the opponent suffers a knee injury that prevents continued wrestling. What is the proper penalty?

Ruling:
There could be several incidents that occur with legal maneuvers where a wrestler might become injured and not be able to continue competition. As long as the referee feels that it is strictly a false start and no unnecessary roughness or unsportsmanlike conduct was involved then there would be no additional penalty beyond the false start. If the injured wrestler was unable to continue after a total of 1 1/2 minutes of injury time, then the injured wrestler would lose the match by default.


I believe this would cover the first two situations ND. The third one could also be, but most likely an action that would hyperextend the elbow could very easily be called unnecessary roughness, and therefore wrestler B would win by default. Wrestler A would not be disqualified, but would lose by default.
Imagine the good that could be done, if people were less worried about their differences, and more worried about doing good for everyone.

Offline heelpick

  • DI
  • ***
  • Posts: 633
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Interpretation
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2015, 06:44:20 PM »
So then what is to keep someone from just jumping the gun and hoping to take the opponent's knee out?

Offline Ray Brinzer

  • Ipse Dixit
  • Administrator
  • Get a Job
  • *****
  • Posts: 7622
    • View Profile
    • http://ray.brinzer.net/
Re: Rules Interpretation
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2015, 03:58:42 PM »
So then what is to keep someone from just jumping the gun and hoping to take the opponent's knee out?

If it appears to be an attempt to injure, an unnecessary roughness or even flagrant misconduct call.

Offline matref0

  • Redshirt
  • **
  • Posts: 384
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Interpretation
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2015, 10:16:21 AM »
Is that definitive? A caution is still indicates an infraction doesn't it

That is definitive.  All infractions are not equal.  For recovery time to start an injury has to occur after an illegal hold/maneuver, unnecessary roughness or unsportsmanlike conduct (flagrant would terminate the match at that point).

Technical violations or cautions are not in the same category and if someone is injured after a technical violation or caution, then recovery time would not be considered.  The injured wrestler would be placed on injury time and if that expired, they would have to injury default.

Like Ray said, if the official believes the false start was used with intent to injure, then the official could call unnecessary roughens and the injured wrestler would be eligible for recovery time.

It is a point of emphasis in the 2014-15 rules book for officials to better position themselves to prevent false starts and potential injuries from neutral.